Business License


Please choose either the Home Occupancy or Commercial Occupancy application as it applies to your current business location.

Business or business activity broadly includes all commercial activities or acts engaged in or caused to be engaged in for profit, whether personal or corporate. This includes (but is not limited to) home occupations, special events and the leasing of commercial property. 

NOTICE: In order to renew your license, you will need to select an application below to create an account for your business and pay your fees. This will require you to enter up-to-date information about your business, however this will be a one time occurrence. You will only be charged the renewal fee.

 We appreciate your patience and understanding as we undergo this transition.

In accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes §9-240(B)(19) (as amended), the Town of Prescott Valley hereby applies license and fee requirements to all persons engaging in any non-exempt business within the Town limits from a fixed location (including residential locations) and all persons engaging in special events as defined in this Article. The purpose of the business license and business license fee is primarily to regulate and fund regulation of the quality of business activity which occurs or is transacted within the Town limits, in order to protect the health, safety and welfare of the people of the Town. The fee is imposed on the privilege of doing business within the Town. 

It is unlawful for any person to carry on any business or special event as defined herein without having procured a business license from the Town in accordance with this Article, and otherwise complying with applicable regulations set forth in the Town Code, Town regulations, Arizona Revised Statutes, and Arizona Administrative Code. This includes (but is expressly not limited to) privilege tax licenses required by Town Code §8A-300. Business license applications should be obtained from the Town no later than fifteen (15) business days prior to commencement of business or special events. 

business licenses stock shot

Because of the importance of the town's business license requirements, the town occasionally mounts an enforcement campaign to ensure uniform application. As approved by the Prescott Valley Town Council, staff will accept applications for business licenses from businesses that have not been in compliance without investigating the issue of prior compliance, up to and including December 31, 2015. The Town of Prescott Valley will strictly enforce the business license provisions including, but not limited to, applying to the Magistrate Court for convictions under provisions of the Town Code.

Town Code makes it a class 3 misdemeanor for any person to carry on a trade, calling, profession, occupation or business without first obtaining a license from the town. Upon conviction, persons could be punished by a fine not to exceed $500 or by imprisonment for a period not to exceed 1 month, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Each day that a violation continues is a separate offense. The complete Town Code Article 8-02 for business licenses is available at the Town Clerk's office and on the Prescott Valley website.

For more information, call 928-759-3135 or email the clerks office at

For TPT sales tax inquiries, call 928-759-3132. For state tax questions, please call 1-800-634-6494 or visit the Arizona Taxes website. For Rental Property questions contact the Yavapai County Assessor at 928-771-3220. There is zero (0%) rental tax in Prescott Valley.

Contact the Town Clerk's office for information for specific licensing requirements and fees for restaurants, insurance agencies, liquor licenses, massage therapy, special events, non-profits and peddlers.

Liquor licenses need 30 days for Town Council approval before being forwarded to the Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses and Control for issuance.